Village Harmony

The new Village Harmony Cross-Countries Choir

New imaginings and the magic of virtual collaboration

Join Village Harmony directors Patty Cuyler, Mollie Stone, Larry Gordon & Sinead O’Mahoney as we combine sister choirs Boston Harmony and the Chicago World Music Chorus and inaugurate the Village Harmony Cross-Countries Choir, welcoming singers from wherever they hail and importing guest teachers from across the globe for a year hell-bent on exploiting the magic of virtual collaboration.

Each hour-and-a-half long rehearsal will include a lesson with a specialist musician from somewhere around the world zooming in to teach us a song and talk about their music. We will also work on a set of traditional & contemporary shape-note music. Rehearsals will involve active participation, with a lot of call- and response learning.

2020-21 Schedule

Rehearsals have been scheduled to take place on the second weekend of each month, meeting on both the Saturday (from 8-9:30pm ET / 7-8:30pm CT) and the Sunday (from 2-3:30pm ET / 1-2:30pm CT), from September through April.

September 12-13:  Lonnie Norwood (Chicago) / Bongani Magatyana (South Africa)
October 10-11:  Nicholas Wiliams (Quebec) / Ketevan Mindorashvili (Republic of Georgia)
November 14-15:  Sandra Santos (Cuba) / Reza Saffari (Iran) [this Sunday’s rehearsal begins at 11am ET / 10am CT]
December 12-13:  Nadia Tarnawsky (Ukraine) / Olaolu Lawal (Nigeria)
January 9-10:  Emily Miller (Appalachian) / Samira Merdzanic (Bosnia)
February 13-14:  TBA / Frederic Vesperini (Corsica)
March 13-14:  Final guests TBA
April 10-11:  Review and virtual collaborations

Choir members will have unlimited access to Village Harmony’s Thinkific learning platform, where recordings of each zoom lesson will be posted afterward for leisurely review. A full gamut of digital teaching materials will reinforce the live teaching for each song, with individual voice parts recordings, performance samples, pronunciation tracks, word sheets, translations, scores and a generous variety of digital background resources to dive into.

NOTE:
If circumstances change and permit us to resume in-person rehearsals, we will continue with our joint virtual meetings through the end of the season, but will also add live rehearsals for those who can join us at them. These would take place at the Masonic Lodge in Concord, MA (Boston Harmony) and at the University of Chicago in Chicago, IL (Chicago World Music Chorus).

Tuition for the 16 sessions will be $250 for the year. A self-selected reduced tuition of $175 is available for those who need it.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save